Scientific Committee Members



Johanna Ekman, Finnish Meteorological Institute

Johanna Ekman has a Ph.D in marine biology from the University of Helsinki, Finland. Her doctoral studies focused on the biology of sea ice in the Arctic, Antarctic and the Baltic Sea. Johanna has held positions as a lecturer and later an acting professor of hydrobiology at the Univ. of Helsinki, Head of Biosciences and Environment Unit at the Academy of Finland, Head of Environmental Affairs at the Central Union of Finnish Farmers and Forest Owners MTK, and Head of Marine Research Unit at the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI). She recently returned from the Finnish Ministry of Transport and Communications where she worked as a ministerial adviser during 2014-2016. Dr. Ekman currently leads FMI’s activities related to Finland’s chairmanship in the Arctic Council (2017-1019) while also serving as the chair of the Finnish Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment’s “ArcTrade” Growth Programme. In the core of her expertise are matters related to sustainable development, meteorology and business in the Arctic, and promoting arctic knowhow.  

Renuka Badhe, European Polar Board

Renuka Badhe currently serves as the Executive Secretary of the European Polar Board (EPB), based in the Netherlands, where her role is to guide and implement the EPB's vision and objectives, oversee communications, and represent EPB at international fora. She holds a PhD on Southern Ocean phytoplankton physiology, and other degrees in environmental sciences, economics and public policy. Renuka has previously worked with organisations such as the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), and the University of Cambridge. She is interested in promoting polar research to wide audiences using a variety of traditional and non-traditional communication tools. Renuka has experience with various aspects of polar science, policy and strategy development and the interfaces between them form her principle area of interest.

Rodica Nitu, Global Cryosphere Watch